The results are in.

Six teachers have been chosen as finalists for Colorado’s 2019 Teacher of the Year award, with the winner set to be announced by Nov. 1.

The finalists were selected from 48 applicants and include four teachers from the Front Range and two from western Colorado. To earn the honor, applicants answered a raft of questions such as, “How do you ensure that education transcends the classroom?” and “Describe a content lesson or unit that defines you as a teacher.” They were also required to submit three letters of support and a video in which they describe how they’d address a critical national education issue.

Here are the finalists:

  • Kelly Cvanciger, Bear Creek High School, Jeffco Public Schools
  • Margaret Cypress, Bradley International School, Denver Public Schools
  • Katie Goldsberry, Longmont Estates Elementary, St. Vrain Valley School District
  • Amy Jones, Sunset Elementary, Moffat County School District
  • Nathan Pearsall, Vista Ridge High School, District 49
  • Nellie Thomson, West Grand School, West Grand School District
Nellie Thomson
Nathan Pearsall
Amy Jones
Katie Goldsberry
Margaret Cypress
Kelly Cvanciger

Katy Anthes, the state’s education commissioner, described the finalists as innovative, compassionate, and inspiring in a statement released Thursday.

Colorado’s Teacher of the Year applicants may apply for the honor themselves, or apply after being nominated by someone else. The finalists and winner are chosen by a committee of people within the education community.

The winner of the 2019 Teacher of the Year competition will represent Colorado in the national Teacher of the Year competition.

Colorado’s 2018 teacher of the year was Christina Randle, a first-grade teacher in the Harrison School District, and the state’s 2017 Teacher of the Year was Sean Wybrant, a career and technical education teacher in Colorado Springs District 11.